Zend - The PHP Company


WEBINAR: Reface IBM i Green Screens or Rewrite Them with PHP - Which Should You Choose?

December 04, 2012 - December 04, 2012: 10:00am PST, 1:00pm EST, 6:00pm GMT, 7:00pm CET

Green screens are the key reason why many people perceive the IBM i as outdated. It's not a question of whether you should provide most of your IBM i applications with a web GUI, but how you should do it.

In an ideal world, you’d rewrite your green screen programs in a modular way such that they can interface with web technologies and languages. Unfortunately, most IBM i shops only have the resources to rewrite a very small subset of their applications.

Attend this webinar where Marcel Sarrasin, BCD’s product marketing manager, presents two complementary approaches designed to meet your short and long term modernization needs. You’ll learn:
  • The pros and cons of web enabling RPG applications vs. rewriting them with PHP
  • How to deliver web applications that utilize your existing RPG skills and code
  • How to give all your green screen applications a web GUI with minimal effort
  • How to develop fully-functioning PHP web applications in minutes

In the last part of this presentation, Mike Pavlak, Zend Solutions Consultant, will show you how to leverage existing RPG and COBOL code using the new open source PHP toolkit for IBM i. He’ll also explain the requirements to run PHP on the IBM i.

Presenters: Marcel Sarrasin, BCD & Mike Pavlak, Zend

Register