Zend - The PHP Company


WEBINAR: Let's Talk: Efficient Communication for PHP and Android

February 28, 2013 - February 28, 2013: 9:00am PST, 12:00pm EST, 5:00pm GMT, 6:00pm CET

The mobile space has exploded in the last several years, prompting the realization that service-oriented architecture is a great way to implement business logic for consumption by both web and mobile applications for optimal long-term scalability. While mobile devices have evolved dramatically, their increased availability to consumers has added strain to networks and service providers are still struggling to make capacity meet demand. To keep hardware costs down, developers must now pinch bytes of bandwidth as they did with memory back in the earlier days of computing. This presentation will review the process of building a PHP-based REST web service to be consumed by a native Android application. Some of the general concepts it presents are also applicable to other mobile platforms such as iOS. It focuses mainly on handling data serialization and compression in both environments.

Presenter: Matthew Turland

Register