The PHP II: Higher Structures class is designed for PHP developers who want to further advance their skills in the PHP language and already know the basics of PHP syntax, language constructs, and web site functionality. It utilizes a hands-on approach with numerous examples and practical exercises - as well as a key development project - to enhance learning.
You will also have the opportunity to use the Zend Studio PHP IDE (Integrated Development Environment) to start your coding adventures the easy and correct way!

Audience

This course continues where PHP I: Foundations leaves off.  It is designed for PHP developers who have at least 6 months experience with PHP, need to learn OOP and want to delve deeper into PHP concepts.  Experienced programmers in Procedural and OO languages, who only want to learn PHP syntax, should refer to the Quick Start: PHP for Experienced Programmers course description.

What will I learn?

This class is designed to teach you intermediate-level PHP concepts, including a lengthy introduction to OOP and other language and web topics essential for creating web-based PHP applications.

Class outline

 

1

PHP SYNTAX REVIEW

  1. Quotes
  2. Comments
  3. Special Characters
  4. Data Types
  5. Precedence and Definitions
  6. Arrays
  7. Operators
  8. Conditionals and Loops
  9. Functions
2

PHP LANGUAGE CONCEPTS

  1. Including Files
  2. Globals
  3. References
  4. File System Basics

 

 

 

3

CONFIGURING PHP

  1. Setting up a Development Environment
  2. php.ini Settings

 

 

 

 

 

 

4

REGULAR EXPRESSIONS

  1. Characters and Symbols
  2. RegEx Functions
  3. Pattern Modifiers
5

PHP WEB CONCEPTS

  1. Server Communication
  2. HTTP Headers
  3. Output Buffering
  4. Browser Caching
  5. Cookies
  6. Sessions
  7. Email
  8. Forms
6

PHP OBJECT-ORIENTED PROGRAMMING

  1. Classes
  2. Static Context
  3. Visibility (PPP)
  4. Overriding Functions
  5. Interfaces
  6. Cloning
  7. Namespaces

 

7

PHP DATABASE BASICS

  1. Relational Databases
  2. SQL and MySQL
  3. PDO
  4. Stored Procedures
  5. Transactions
8

CRITIAL ASPECTS OF BUILDING PHP APPLICATIONS

  1. Testing and Debugging
  2. Troubleshooting Procedures: Development
  3. phpDocumentor, phpDoc
  4. Exceptions
  5. Web Services
  6. Performance Enhancements
  7. Security and Validation

 

Prerequisite(s)

PHP I: Foundations, or PHP I: Foundations (IBM i/OS Programmers), or equivalent knowledge.  This course assumes a thorough grounding in the language and syntax of PHP and does not fully review those topics. It also assumes that students who completed the PHP I: Foundations course have practiced applying the skills they learned before attempting this next level.

What does it include?

This online class provides nine 2 1/2-hour, instructor-led lectures on the PHP language, coupled with practical examples and student exercises. You will be given a participant course guide, to help you follow along with the lectures and exercises, as well as the exercises solution code. You will also be granted access to the recorded sessions for thirty days after your class ends, so that you have time to review the materials at your own pace, to solidify important concepts and advance your coding skills!

Class Registration and System Requirements

Registration Information and Technical Requirements

Buy 3 or more for $1080 each and save 10%

 

$1200

Buy Now

Class Schedule

Language

Class Schedule

Hours per Session

Online

Nov. 3, 5, 7, 10, 12, 14, 17, 19 & 21

3:30-6pm PST

00h30-03h00 next day CET (Paris)

23:30-02:00 GMT

Online

Dec. 1, 3, 5, 8, 10, 12, 15, 17 & 19

5-7:30am PST

14-16h30 CET (Paris)

13-15:30 GMT

Online

Jan. 5, 7, 9, 12, 14, 16, 19, 21 & 23

9-11:30 PST

18-20h30 CET (Paris)

17-19:30 GMT

Online

Feb. 2, 4, 6, 9, 11, 13, 17, 18 & 20

5-7:30am PST

14-16h30 CET (Paris)

13-15:30 GMT

Online

Mar. 2, 4, 6, 9, 11, 13, 16, 18 & 20

9:30am-12pm PST 18:30-21:00 CET (Paris)

17:30-20:00 GMT