Zend Framework (ZF) is a leading open-source framework for developing enterprise-scale, PHP web applications and services. ZF incorporates advanced software design patterns with a component structure based on highly modular, object-oriented code.

What Will You Learn?

Understand how to use Zend Framework to quickly build well-designed, scalable, and secure web applications. The class covers fundamental ZF concepts. And you will learn how to save time and solve common problems using components.

By the end of this course you’ll able to:

  • Build a web application using Zend Framework. 
  • Define services classes — including model, view, controller, and custom "factory" — with well-defined dependencies.
  • Create a multi-layer view architecture with your custom themes.
  • Build object-oriented form classes that are easily maintained and extended.
  • Secure your website against attack using the Zend Framework filtering and validation classes.
  • Control applications' workflows with Zend Framework listeners and events.
  • Build model classes that securely interact with a database.
  • Use best practices to add modular application features.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Audience

This course is designed for intermediate PHP developers who have a good working knowledge of the PHP language and object-oriented programming (OOP). This is an introductory course and assumes no previous Zend Framework experience. While this is a fundamental level course on Zend Framework, participants are assumed to be proficient enough in the PHP language to understand intermediate-level code examples and to perform coding exercises.

Prerequisites

Good working knowledge of PHP at an intermediate level and experience with developing object- oriented PHP applications. 

Class Format

This course provides a series of nine, two-hour, instructor-led lectures coupled with practical examples and participant exercises. Apart from holidays, course lectures are scheduled with a day in between meetings to allow participants to complete the labs.

Participants are provided with a course guide, and a virtual machine with solution code for a practice application used as a teaching tool throughout the course. The virtual machine also contains plenty of fully functional code examples using the latest version of ZF.  This class can also be delivered by an instructor on site.

Registration, Terms, and Conditions

If you have any questions please contact us at itraining@zend.com

Reserve your spot for this class,
buy the course today!

$1,195.00

BUY NOW

Class Schedule
TypeScheduleSession Hours

Online
(English)

September:
9, 11, 13, 16, 18, 20,  23, 25 & 27

1pm-3pm PST Sunday
22-24h00 CEST (Paris) 
06-08:00 AET(Sydney) next day

Online
(English)

October:
6, 8, 10, 13, 15, 17, 20, 22 & 24

5pm-7pm PST Sunday
2-04h00 CEST (Paris) next day
11-01:00 AET(Sydney) next day

Online
(English)

November:
4, 6, 8, 11, 13, 15, 18, 20 & 22

7am-9am PST
16-18h00 CEST (Paris)
02-04:00 AET(Sydney) next day

Online
(English)

December:
1, 3, 5, 8, 10, 12, 15, 17 & 19

5pm-7pm PST Sunday
2-04h00 CEST (Paris) next day
12-14:00 AET(Sydney) next day

Classroom
(Italian)

Milan and Rome
Contact Elena Brambilla with questions about the courses.

 

Note: After you have purchased your Zend online training course, you will receive an email detailing the registration process.

If you have any questions please contact us at itraining@zend.com.

Class Outline

Course Introduction

  1. Course introduction
  2. Course approach and content
  3. Key tools

Zend Framework Fundamentals

  1. Zend Framework overview
  2. Namespaces
  3. Traits
  4. Autoloading
  5. Code organization

Zend MVC Basics

  1. Module basics
  2. Controller basics
  3. View basics
  4. Route basics

Controllers and Plugins

  1. Controllers
  2. Plugins

Services

  1. The service container
  2. Service types
  3. Container service factories
  4. Satisfying dependencies

View

  1. View helpers
  2. View models
  3. Renderers
  4. Rendering strategy classes
  5. View helpers

Forms, Filters, and Validators

  1. Forms
  2. Input filtering and validation
  3. Form rendering
  4. Lab: Forms

Events and Management

  1. Events
  2. EventManager
  3. SharedEventManager

Data Persistence

  1. Zend Db
  2. Adapters
  3. Zend SQL
  4. Zend TableGateway

Modules In-Depth

  1. The module class
  2. Module configuration
  3. A modular application
  4. The module manager